David Olney Bio, Wiki, Age, Wife, Children, Net Worth, Death and Songs

David Olney Bio, Wiki

David Olney was an American folk singer-songwriter who died on January 18, 2020, while performing onstage at the 30A Songwriter Festival in Santa Rosa Beach, Florida.

Olney attended the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill but did not graduate. In 1971, he joined Bland Simpson’s band Simpson. The band recorded one album in New York, and then Olney relocated to Atlanta in 1972.

In 1973, he moved to Nashville, attempted to sell his songs to record labels, and then formed the band The X-Rays, who recorded two albums for Rounder Records, appeared on Austin City Limits, opened for Elvis Costello, and broke up in 1985.

He performed as a solo singer-songwriter, and released more than 20 albums over four decades, including 6 live recordings. Olney collaborated with artists such as Sergio Webb and John Hadley.

David Olney Photo

David Olney Photo

His songs were covered by and co-written with Emmylou Harris, Del McCoury, Steve Earle, Linda Ronstadt, Steve Young, and Laurie Lewis, among others.

David Olney Age

Olney was born on March 23, 1948, in Providence, Rhode Island, United States. At the time of his death on January 18, 2020, he was 71 years old.

David Olney Wife

Olney was married to Regine and together they resided in Nashville, Tennessee. The couple had a son, Redding, and a daughter, Lillian.

David Olney Net Worth

Olney had an estimated net worth is $60 Million at the time of his death on January 18, 2020.

David Olney Death

Olney died on January 18, 2020, after apparently suffering a heart attack during a performance at 30A Songwriters Festival in Santa Rosa Beach, Florida.

His publicist confirmed his passing. According to songwriter Amy Rigby, who was performing alongside Olney on January 18 at the 30A Songwriters Festival, Olney died onstage during a performance. In a Facebook post, Amy Rigby stated, “Olney was in the middle of his third song when he stopped, apologized and shut his eyes…I just want the picture to be as graceful and dignified as it was, because it at first looked like he was just taking a moment.”

Scott Miller, who was also on stage, similarly described Olney’s final moment. He wrote,

“Last night we lost David Olney, one of the finest songwriters I have had the pleasure of playing with and knowing. When I did my first show with him ( maybe 5-6 years ago) my friend Robin Williams said, ‘Oh, you are in for a treat’ and indeed I was. What a force. What a writer.” “And what a nice guy. We always talked of Anne McCue, Robin and Linda Williams and who saw them last; last night we also spoke of our mutual love for Modernist Poetry.”

“Then we started our set in the round with Amy Rigby,” he added. “David was playing a song when he paused, said ‘I’m sorry’ and put his chin to his chest. He never dropped his guitar or fell off his stool. It was as easy and gentle as he was. We got him down and tried our best to revive him until the EMT’s arrived. The world lost a good one last night. But we still have his work. And it still inspires. And always will. RIP.”

Olney survived by his wife, Regine, daughter, Lillian, and son, Redding.

David Olney Albums

Solo albums

  • 1986: Eye of the Storm (Philo / Rounder)
  • 1988: Deeper Well (Philo)
  • 1991: Roses (Philo)
  • 1991: Top to Bottom (Appaloosa)
  • 1992: Border Crossing (SilenZ Records)
  • 1994: Ache of Longing (Roadsongs)
  • 1994: Live in Holland (Strictly Music)
  • 1995: High, Wide and Lonesome (Philo / Rounder)
  • 1997: Real Lies (Philo)
  • 1999: Through a Glass Darkly (Philo / Rounder)
  • 1999: Ghosts in the Wind: Live at La Casa, Michigan (Barbed)
  • 2000: Omar’s Blues (Dead Reckoning)
  • 2002: Women Across the River: Live in Holland (Strictly Music)
  • 2003: The Wheel (Loud House)
  • 2004: Illegal Cargo: Live in Holland (South Central)
  • 2005: Migration (Loud House)
  • 2006: Lenora: Live in Holland (Strictly Country)
  • 2007: One Tough Town (Red Parlor)
  • 2008: Live at Norm’s River Roadhouse, Volume 1 (Deadbeat) with Sergio Webb and Jack Irwin
  • 2009: Ol’ Diz: A Musical Baseball Story. A Songwriters’ Work in Progress (Deadbeet) with John Hadley
  • 2010: Dutchman’s Curve (Deadbeet / Continental Song City)
  • 2012: The Stone (Deadbeet)
  • 2012: Robbery & Murder (Deadbeet) collects the EPs Film Noir, The Stone, and Robbery & Murder as a 3-CD box set
  • 2013: Predicting The Past: Introducing Americana Music Vol.2 (Rootsy) [Two discs. Disc 2: retrospective
  • 2000–2012, all previously released]
  • 2014: Sweet Poison (Strictly Music) available at shows starting Nov. 2013, generally released in Jan. 2014
  • 2014: When the Deal Goes Down” (Deadbeet)
  • 2016: Holiday In Holland (Strictly Country) with Sergio Webb
  • 2017: Don’t Try to Fight It (Red Parlor)

Solo EPs

  • 2011: Film Noir (Deadbeet)
  • 2012: The Stone (Deadbeet)
  • 2012: Robbery & Murder (Deadbeet)

David Olney Songs

  • Jerusalem Tomorrow
  • You Never Know
  • Postcard From Mexico
  • If My Eyes Were Blind
  • Women Across The River
  • Saturday Night and Sunday Morning
  • 1917
  • Through a Glass Darkly
  • Contender
  • Death Will Not Divide Us
  • The Song
  • Running From Love
  • Wait Here for the Cops
  • Big Cadillac
  • If I Were You
  • Speak Memory
  • Ache of Longing
  • Little Bit of Poison
  • If It Wasn’t for the Wind
  • Border Town
  • Voices on the Water
  • Red Tail Hawk
  • Covington Girl
  • Chained and Bound to the Wheel
  • Barabbas
  • Vincent’s Blues
  • My Family Owns This Town
  • Frank Is Gone
  • Mister Vermeer
  • Open Your Heart
  • My Lovely Assistant
  • God Shaped Hole
  • Another Place, Another Time